Summer at the Wilder Kaiser

Mountain break

Summer holidayat Wilder Kaiser

Your summer holiday on the Wilder Kaiser leaves nothing to be desired. You will be impressed!

Over 700 km of marked hiking paths will make hiker’s heart’s beat faster and impress with their wonderful panoramas and views of the imposing Wilder Kaiser. However, the region is not only the perfect holiday destination for hikers but also climbers, walkers or paragliders.

Experience the unique atmosphere in idyllic resting points and enjoy the fantastic view, cool drinks and tasty treats from the region.

You decide whether you want to explore the mountain landscape with a guided hiking group, or would rather reach the summit under your own steam - whether on foot or comfortably by train. 

mountain with flowers in the front

Hiking trails & hiking tips

Sonnseitrunde - the adventure trail

The adventure hike from Ellmau village in the direction of the Wilder Kaiser via path no. 14 to the Wochenbrunner Alm, the first viewpoint in the Kaiser Mountains. Recharging yourself at the Ellmauer Steinkreis (Ellmau stone circle) and comfortable place to stop at the Riedlhütte.

Walking time: 4:15 h     Difficulty: medium

more information

Family hike - Rehbach gorge

The Rehbach Gorge above the village with the wild-romantic gorge is a real attraction for every visitor to Scheffau. The hiking trail in the forest leads across the brook to the entrance of the Rehbachklamm. Over the ridge of roughly hewn stones one reaches up to hanging bridges at small waterfalls and to a short, illuminated mining building pollin from the 16th century, which still has beautiful deposits of argonite.

Walking time: 1:30 h     Difficulty: easy

more information

Rübezahlschnitzweg

The hiking path leads from the Hartkaiser to the Rübezahlalm. This alpine inn is a popular destination and well-known from numerous radio and television programmes. Austria's longest hiking path of carved figures is around 3km long and takes about 1 hour to walk. On this hike you are surrounded by 22 carved figures that were made by the landlord of the Rübezahlalm Gerhard Salvenmoser with a motor saw.

Walking time: 1:00 h     Difficulty: medium

 

more information
Favourite placeAstberg at the Wilder Kaiser
Mountain Freedomexperience breathtaking Silence
Family holidaysomething for everyone

Fancy a cool down?

In addition to our own swimming pond at the 4-star Hotel Sonnenhof on the Wilder Kaiser, there are of course many other ways to cool off during your family holiday here. There is nothing better than jumping into the cool water, especially when the temperatures just keep rising. The Wilder Kaiser offers a wide range of activities for all water lovers.

Waidring swimming lake
The swimming lake in Waidring is an artificially created lake and approx. 4,000 m² in size. Due to the constant supply of fresh water, it is in no way inferior to natural lakes and has real drinking water quality. Next to the lake you will find a large sunbathing lawn and a 15,000 m² recreational area with table tennis table, beach volleyball court, a buffet service as well as a children’s paddling pool and a heated swimming pool. So perfect for a dreamy summer’s day outdoors!

Kaiserbad Ellmau
Bathe like an emperor – that’s exactly what you can do at the Kaiserbad Ellmau! The beautiful leisure pool is in the neighbouring village of Ellmau just about 5 minutes away by car. Whether it’s in the indoor adventure pool, the outdoor pool, the bio swimming pond or the sauna – you will find fun for the whole family here. The spacious grounds offer a perfect view of the Wilder Kaiser and guarantee rest and relaxation.

Westendorf outdoor swimming pool
The outdoor swimming pool in Westendorf is one of the most popular swimming pools in the area and is especially appreciated by families. With a total of 3 different pools and a large sunbathing lawn, there is enough space for a relaxing day in the sun even on hot summer days. The highlight is the 42 metre long water slide, which guarantees great fun for all ages. 

Lakes & swimming pools in the region
Child having fun in the lake
InquiryDirect Booking

Sommer am Wilden Kaiser

Bergauszeit

Sommerurlaubam Wilden Kaiser

Ihr Sommerurlaub am Wilden Kaiser lässt keine Wünsche offen, Sie werden begeistert sein!

Die über 700 km markierten Wanderwege lassen das Wanderherz höher schlagen und imponieren durch ihre wunderschönen Panoramen und Ausblicke auf den imposanten Wilden Kaiser. Die Gegend ist aber nicht nur für Wanderer das perfekte Urlaubsziel sondern auch für Kletterer, Spaziergänger oder Paragleiter.

Erleben Sie die einzigartige Atmosphäre in idyllischen Einkehrmöglichkeiten und genießen Sie einen traumhaften Urlaub am Wilden Kaiser mit kühle Getränke und schmackhafte Köstlichkeiten aus der Region.

Sie entscheiden, ob Sie die Bergwelt mit einer geführten Wandergruppe erkunden möchten oder lieber unter Eigenregie den Gipfel erklimmen - egal ob zu Fuß oder bequem mit der Bahn.

Berg mit Blumen im Vordergrund

Wandern am Wilden Kaiser

Sonnseitrunde - Erlebniswanderweg

Bei der Erlebniswanderung vom Ellmauer Dorf in Richtung des Wilden Kaisers entlang dem Weg Nr. 14 hinauf zur Wochenbrunner Alm, erreichen Sie die erste Aussichtsetage im Kaisergebirge. Beim Ellmauer Steinkreis hat man bei einer gemütlichen Einkehr in der Riedlhütte die Möglichkeit Energie zu tanken und sich für den weiteren Weg zu stärken. 

Gehzeit: 4:15 h     Schwierigkeit: mittel

mehr Info

Familienwanderung - Rehbachklamm

Die Rehbachschlucht oberhalb des Ortes mit der wildromantischen Klamm ist für jeden Besucher von Scheffau eine echte Attraktion. Der Wanderpfad im Wald führt über den Bach bis zum Eingang der Rehbachklamm. Über den Steig aus roh behauenen Steinen gelangt man hinauf zu Hängebrücken an kleinen Wasserfällen und zu einem kurzen, beleuchteten Bergbaustollen aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, der noch schöne Versinterungen aus Argonit aufweist.

Gehzeit: 1:30 h     Schwierigkeit: leicht

mehr Info

Rübezahlschnitzweg

Der Wanderweg führt vom Hartkaiser zur Rübezahlalm. Die Alm ist ein ganzjährig beliebtes Ausflugsziel und durch zahlreiche Rundfunk- und Fernsehsendungen bekannt. Österreichs längster Schnitzfiguren-Wanderweg ist ca. 3 km lang. Auf dieser Wanderung sind Sie von 22 Schnitzfiguren umgeben, die eigenhändig von Rübezahlalm-Wirt Gerhard Salvenmoser mit der Motorsäge geschnitzt worden sind.

Gehzeit: 1:00 h     Schwierigkeit: mittel

mehr Info
LieblingsplatzlAstberg am Wilden Kaiser
BergfreiheitAtemberaubende Stille erleben
FamilienurlaubFür alle etwas dabei

Lust aufeine Abkühlung?

Neben unserem hauseigenen Schwimmteich im 4 Sterne Hotel Sonnenhof Wilder Kaiser, gibt es natürlich noch viele weitere Möglichkeiten, um sich im Urlaub am Wilden Kaiser abzukühlen. Gerade wenn die Temperaturen immer weiter nach oben steigen, gibt es nichts Schöneres, als einen Sprung in das kühle Nass. Wir bieten Ihnen breitgefächerte Angebote für Ihren Familienurlaub am Wilden Kaiser.

Badesee Waidring
Der Badesee in Waidring ist ein künstlich angelegter See und ca. 4.000 m² groß. Durch die ständige Frischwasserzufuhr, steht er den Naturseen in nichts nach und weist echte Trinkwasserqualität auf. Neben dem See findet man eine große Liegewiese und ein 15.000 m² Freizeit-Areal mit Tischtennistisch, Beachvolleyballplatz, einen Buffet-Betrieb sowie ein Kinderplanschbecken und ein beheiztes Schwimmbecken. Perfekt also für einen traumhaften Sommertag in der Natur!

Kaiserbad Ellmau
Baden wie ein Kaiser - genau das ist im Kaiserbad Ellmau möglich! Nur ca. 5 Minuten mit dem Auto entfernt, liegt das schöne Freizeitbad im Nachbarort Ellmau. Egal ob im Erlebnishallenbad, im Freibad, beim Bioschwimmteich oder in der Sauna – hier finden Sie Spaß für die ganze Familie. Die weitläufige Anlage bietet einen perfekten Blick auf den Wilden Kaiser und garantiert Erholung und Entspannung.

Freischwimmbad Westendorf
Das Freischwimmbad Westendorf ist eines der beliebtesten Schwimmbäder in der Umgebung und wird vor allem von Familien sehr geschätzt. Mit insgesamt 3 verschiedenen Becken und einer großen Liegewiese, ist sogar an heißen Sommertagen genügend Platz für einen entspannten Tag in der Sonne. Das Highlight ist die 42 Meter lange Wasserrutsche, welche großen Spaß für Jung und Alt garantiert.

Seen & Bäder in der Region
Kinder im See
AnfrageDirekt Buchen